One of the Million Jerks Wearing Plaid at Neutral Milk Hotel

The last few years have brought a wonderful run of unexpected reunions of some of my favourite bands. Last night, I finally got to see Neutral Milk Hotel perform.

I was focused on the band, but others were more distracted by those around them. Fun fact!: this Missed Connection took place within mere metres of where I stood, right near the sound booth.

Neutral Milk Hotel m4w

(click to expand)

Quoting lyrics from a favourite* Neutral Milk Hotel song is a nice framing to this post, but I sort of loathe when women are described as doll-like. But, this fellow at least gets points for the higher-than-usual attention to detail; the subject of the post might actually be able to recognize herself from the description.

He unfortunately isn’t so helpful in describing** himself, but like so many Missed Connections, he’s taken the fallback approach of ‘just putting it out there’ rather than risking rejection by talking to her. Same old story.

*As I realized in conversation with my friend last night after the show, every NMH song is my favourite NMH song in the moment I’m listening to it. 

**Most of my past boyfriends would blend right into the beards ‘n glasses set that made up the audience, so make of that what you will.

This entry was posted in Toronto and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

