An Illustrated Missed Connection from The New Yorker

I stopped into Outer Layer in the Annex last night, seeking a card. I didn’t find just the right one, but I did spot a postcard featuring the New Yorker cover illustration, below.

I wanted to share it because the image so perfectly captures many elements of Missed Connections – the mutual recognition/interest/attraction, the lack of opportunity to have communicated verbally, the subway setting – and of course, the man and the woman who find someone else reading the same book, at the same time.

It’s really a gem of an illustration, and I love that it reflects Missed Connections (to me, at least). I should have purchased it immediately, since I’m still thinking about it 12 hours later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Illustrated Missed Connection from The New Yorker

  1. Zvi says:

    The artist is Adrian Tomine, who writes a lot of comics — his best known title is Optic Nerve. His work often has a kind of fragile, anxious, melancholy quality (with swears).

Leave a Reply

