7 Habits of Highly Effective Missed Connections

I don’t believe in “meant to be” or that there’s only one person for everyone. And I try to ignore the High Fidelity voice inside me that says “it’s what you like, not what you’re like” – experience has taught me that this isn’t always/usually the case.

Yet, there’s a certain magic to moments when you come across someone whose interests mirror your own so perfectly. It may not be lasting, it may not amount to anything – but there’s a brief second when you feel like maybe someone “gets” you.

So let’s find out what two people keen on self-development/productivity do in this scenario:

I’m reaching far back into my memory to reading The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens as a youngster (I mostly recall quadrants divided by urgency vs. importance – is that right?). But I’m sure there was an element of being proactive – which reminds me of a question I’ve never quite answered about Missed Connections.

Is writing a Missed Connection post an active approach – by at least trying to contact someone who caught your interest? Or is it passive, a fallback – you couldn’t get up the nerve to reach out when you had a real chance of doing so?

I’m not convinced that there’s just one answer, and certainly many posts can be read either way. Nonetheless, while similar interests don’t equate to viable relationship prospects, there’d be a part of me that would want to follow-up with someone reading the same book at the same time – if only to nerd out over productivity tactics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Habits of Highly Effective Missed Connections

  1. Pingback: An Illustrated Missed Connection from The New Yorker | lust & found

Leave a Reply

