Sgt. Craigslist’s Lonely Hearts Club Meet-up

“Honey, I hope you haven’t made a reservation for Valentine’s Day, because we’re going to BMV to look for Missed Connections!”

Or so I might have to announce before more, shall we say, “traditional” Valentine’s plans are established. Who wants to go to a restaurant on Valentine’s Day, anyway?

A forward-thinking young woman has proposed that the lonely hearts of Toronto, aka readers and writers of Missed Connections, unite incognito on Valentine’s Day at an Annex book store. Granted, I regularly see a fair number of MCs taking place at BMV on Bloor, so there’s a case to be made that this is either the perfect venue for such a meet-up, or somewhat redundant.

Side note: I saw this Missed Connection post last night, but didn’t get a screen grab. When I went to look at the original post tonight, it had been “flagged for removal.” Yarg. Thus, you’ll have to settle for a shot from my RSS reader.

Yes, I would definitely be the type to skip out on a culturally-mandated date night in order to observe Missed Connections in action. This isn’t the first such event in Toronto. A few years ago, an informal get-together of Missed Connections fans took place at The World’s Biggest Bookstore, as reported by Torontoist (both before and after the event) and the National Post.

Unfortunately, I didn’t attend, and I think I regret it a little bit (hence being so keen to go this time around!). I think I might have had an actual date that night, or maybe it was just because I wasn’t ready to make my Missed Connections obsession interest widely known at the time (ah, how things have changed!). What was I thinking?

I’m curious as to whether this event will actually happen, given that the post has been taken down, but I’ll be sure to keep you posted. Who wouldn’t want to watch Missed Connections’ers in their natural habit? {internal voice: erm, most people?}

Anyway, maybe I’ll see you there? I’ll be the one furtively taking notes while pretending to look at cookbooks.


This entry was posted in A bit random, Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sgt. Craigslist’s Lonely Hearts Club Meet-up

  1. Matt says:

    Is there some sort of ‘hint hint’ in that first paragraph?

  2. Pingback: Grand Central Station Missed Connections party | lust & found

Leave a Reply

