Whole lotta shakin’ going on

The venerable weekly Shake A Tail dance party has a new venue – instead of Saturday nights at Clinton’s (Bloor & Clinton), you can now shake those tail feathers at Sneaky Dee’s (College & Bathurst). Will this mark the beginning of a comeback for Sneak’s? I honestly haven’t been there for much since their booking agent left to start the amazing (and varied) program of shows & events at the Garrison.

But more importantly – will they still reliably play Shout, by the Isley Brothers, towards the end of the night?

I guess I’ll have to check it out for myself sometime soon – or you can drop me a line in the comments and let me know how it’s going at the new location! But one thing’s for sure…the ladies and gents are continuing the hit the dance floor, and are definitely still making eyes at one another.

Perhaps the fellow above could offer a bit more detail about the lady in question?

This guy gives us a little bit more to go on here, but evidently not enough for some curious readers (writing within an hour, to boot!)…

Now, I’m sure just about everyone had a good time that night – and you’re all very special in your own way, I’m sure. But the next gal definitely wins the Missed Connections dance-off trophy for the night.

Now this is what I like to see: description of the circumstances of an *actual* interaction (chatting at table with friend, compliment), return of compliments, and of course, the classic Missed Connections trope – the person of interest got away before contact info and such could be exchanged.

I like to think that there’s always a  “glass slipper” or detail that the person leaves behind – the writer can use this information to see if the “shoe fits,” so to speak. In this instance, for example, “Karen” could ask would-be “Handsome Young Man” email repliers to describe the blush-worthy compliment.

Failing that, I wonder if she would settle for a  “dashing young gent ” instead of a  “Handsome Young Man”?

Maybe it’s just me, but one of the delightful pleasures of reading Missed Connections is trying to match up posts for situations and descriptions that are possibly similar beyond a mere coincidence (yes, I have a fanciful imagination). If I ever found such an instance, I suppose it would be far too meddlesome and creepy to email them both and try to connect them, though. Maybe it was all that listening to the soundtrack to Fiddler on the Roof as a child, but I somehow always thought it’d be enjoyable to be a matchmaker. But I doubt anyone would write me a Missed Connection if I looked and meddled like Yente (?). So it goes.

Keep yer eyes peeled, though, and be sure to let me know if you ever spot serendipitously similar posts!

This entry was posted in Toronto and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

